2018 Convention Awards

2017 Award Winners

Each year Sigma Tau Delta recognizes excellence by awarding over $13,000 for the best convention submissions at the Red & Black Convention Awards Gala.

Isabel Sparks President’s Awards

Given for the best presentations by active student and alumni members at the Sigma Tau Delta International Convention, these awards were established in 1991 by Isabel Sparks, the fifth President of Sigma Tau Delta.

Justin Q. Owen Convention Awards

Each year, these awards recognize critical essays and creative works by active student and alumni writing on the convention theme; this year’s theme is Seeking Freedom. The monetary prizes are given in honor of Justin Q. Owen, the first National Secretary of Sigma Tau Delta.

Other Convention Awards

Sigma Tau Delta values creative and scholarly contributions that represent diversity of abilities, races, and creeds, and we present special awards for the best among these submissions. Sigma Kappa Delta (our sister organization at two-year schools) and Alumni Epsilon (the alumni chapter of Sigma Tau Delta) also reward excellent submissions by their members.

Beyond convention submissions, the organization also gives prizes for “Outstanding Chapter Displays” (posters displayed and judged during Convention). And Sigma Tau Delta Scholarship and Award applicants submit Convention-theme-based essays that are eligible for prizes.